Eight selected for quality agency board

February 21, 1997

Eight directors have been named for the new single quality agency for higher education: Ian Graham-Bryce, principal, University of Dundee; Haydn Ellis, pro-vice chancellor, University of Wales, Cardiff; Janet Finch, vice chancellor, Keele University; Martin Gaskell, director, Nene College; Ronald Miller, deputy chairman, Scottish Amicable Life Assurance Society; Valerie Stead, deputy vice chancellor, University of Greenwich; Rab Tefler, chairman of the board of governors, University of Teesside; and Roger Williams, vice chancellor, University of Reading. The full board will consist of 14 directors.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns