New year honours

January 6, 1995

Knights Bachelor Professor James Armour, for services to the veterinary profession and education.

Michael Bond (professor of psychological medicine and vice principal, University of Glasgow) for services to medicine.

Professor Laurence Hunter, chairman, Police Negotiating Board.

Miles Irving (professor of surgery, University of Manchester) for services to medicine.

John Maddox, editor, Nature, for services to science.

Christopher Paine (president, Royal College of Radiologists and consultant in radiotherapy and oncology, Oxford) for services to medicine.

Professor Peter Russell, for services to Hispanic and Portuguese history and literature studies.

Professor Stewart Sutherland, for services to education.

Arnold Wolfendale (Astronomer Royal and professor of physics, University of Durham) for services to astronomy.

CBE John Blandy (vice president, Royal College of Surgeons and emeritus professor of urology, London Hospital Medical College) for services to medicine.

Martin Bobrow (Prince Philip professor of paediatric research, United Medical and Dental School of Guy's and St Thomas's Hospitals) for services to science.

Christopher Brooke (Dixie professor emeritus of ecclesiastical history, University of Cambridge) for services to history.

Eileen Buttle, lately secretary, Natural Environment Research Council, for services to science.

Robert Davies (professor of history, University College of Wales, Aberystwyth) for services to history and education.

Professor Richard Feachem (dean, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine) for services to international public health.

Professor Eric Fernie (chairman, Ancient Monuments Board for Scotland) for services to conservation and architectural history.

Professor Robert Gavin, for services to higher education.

Professor John Goodman, for services to industrial relations.

David Gwyther (lately chairman, Somerset Training and Enterprise Council) for services to training.

Roger Hood (reader in criminology and director of the Centre for Criminological Research, University of Oxford) for services to the study of criminology.

Peter Knight (vice chancellor, University of Central England in Birmingham) for services to higher education.

Andrew Love (professor of medicine, Queen's University Belfast) for services to medicine.

Professor Peter McKie, for services to the textile industry.

Professor Howard Newby (lately chief executive, Economic and Social Research Council) for services to economic and social sciences.

Professor David Newsome (senior partner, CWS Scientific and Engineering Services) for services to the development of weather radar and to water management in developing countries.

Professor Charles Rees (lately president, Royal Society of Chemistry) for services to chemistry.

Edward Reynolds (professor of neonatal medicine, University College London) for services to medicine.

Anthony Toft (consultant physician, Royal Infirmary, Edinburgh and president, Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh) for services to medicine.

Roger Ward (chief executive, Universities and Colleges Employers' Forum) for services to higher education.

OBE Jennifer Carter (senior lecturer in history, University of Aberdeen) for services to the University of Aberdeen.

Professor David Davies (lately head of applied genetics department, John Innes Centre, Norwich) for services to genetic research.

Dennis Deletant (reader in Romanian studies, University of London) for services to British/Romanian relations.

Alan Dewar (chairman, board of management, Oatridge Agricultural College, West Lothian) for services to agricultural education.

Anthony Fox (principal, Myerscough College) for services to agricultural education.

Marjorie Grant (chief executive, Tyneside Training and Enterprise Council) for services to training.

Peter Hills (professor of transport engineering and director of transport operations research group, University of Newcastle upon Tyne) for services to transportation planning and research.

Robert Hollyhock (principal, Sutton Coldfield College of Further Education) for services to further education.

Professor Erika Langmuir, head of education, National Gallery.

Professor Alexander Mair, for services to occupational health.

Professor Colin Mills, for services to education and humanitarian relief in the former Yugoslavia.

Robert Richards (professor of pharmacy, Robert Gordon University, Aberdeen) for services to pharmacy.

Professor Hugh Simpson (chairman, Advisory Committee on the Safety of Nuclear Installations Research sub-Committee) for services to the nuclear industry.

William Styles (chairman of Council, Royal College of General Practitioners) for services to medicine.

Bernard Vaughan (chair, Bournemouth and Poole College of Further Education Corporation) for services to further education.

Edward Williams (professor of general practice, University of Nottingham) for services to medicine.

MBE Robert Allgrove (head of the School of Science, Chichester College of Arts, Science and Technology) for services to further education.

Celia Deacon (convenor, Royal College of Nursing, Worthing and Southlands NHS Trust) for services to health care.

Alfred Falk (head porter, St Bartholomew's Medical College, University of London) for services to education.

Caroline Farquahar (chief executive, Work Wise Limited, Glasgow) for services to training.

Thomas Inglis (lately assistand head, Department of Building and Surveying, Glasgow Caledonian University) for services to quantity surveying.

Anne Stevens, for services to the Ashmolean Museum, Oxford.

Edward Wilkins (purchasing officer, Institute of Arable Crops Research, Long Ashton, Bristol) for services to science.

Geoffrey Wilson (lately buildings officer, London School of Economics) for services to education Companions of Honour (CH) Cesar Milstein, for services to molecular biology.

Carel Weight, professor emeritus, Royal College of Art, for services to art.

Companion of the Order of the Bath (CB) Jennifer Bacon, Grade 2, Health and Safety Executive, Department of Employment.

DIPLOMATIC honours AND OVERSEAS LIST CBE Professor, the Honourable Edward Chen Kwang-yiu (director, Centre for Asian Studies, Hong Kong University) Professor Cheng Yiu-chung (director, City Polytechnic, Hong Kong).

OBE Professor Emma Harris, for services to education in Poland.

Professor Leung Chi-keung, for services to transport in Hong Kong.

Professor Leung Ping-chung, for services to medicine in Hong Kong.

COMMONWEALTH HONOURS DBE Professor Mary Anne Salmond, for services to historical research.

CBE Professor Brian Coote, for services to legal education.

Professor Gavin Kellaway, for services to pharmacology.

OBE Emeritus professor John Mackie, for services to surveying and the community.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments