January 31, 1997

Institute of Physics

Glazebrook Medal and Prize: Alexander Donachie, dean of the faculty of science at University of Manchester, in recognition of his outstanding contribution to the organisation of science.

Guthrie Medal and Prize: John Baldwin, professor of radio astronomy, Cavendish Laboratory, University of Cambridge.

Paul Dirac Medal and Prize: Peter Higgs, professor of theoretical physics, University of Edinburgh.

Charles Vernon Boys Medal and Prize: Roger Forty, research physicist, CERN, Geneva.

Bragg Medal and Prize: Timothy Hickson, second master and head of physics, The King's School, Worcester.

Charles Chree Medal and Prize: John Coey, professor of experimental physics, Trinity College, Dublin.

Duddell Medal and Prize: Timothy Berners-Lee, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, US.

Kelvin Medal and Prize: Brian Delf, course director, MSc in communicating science, Techniquest, Cardiff.

Maxwell Medal and Prize: Michael Wilkinson, senior lecturer in physics, University of Strathclyde.

Paterson Medal and Prize: Charles Elliott and Timothy Ashley, electronics sector, Defence Research Agency, Great Malvern.

Thomas Young Medal and Prize: Keith Burnett, professor of physics, Clarendon Laboratory, University of Oxford.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns