Proteomics chemists scoop Nobel prize

October 11, 2002

Three chemists whose work helped establish the field of proteomics have won the Nobel for chemistry. The prize was shared by John Fenn (Virginia Commonwealth University, US), Koichi Tanaka (Shimadzu Corporation, Japan) and Kurt Wiethrich (Swiss Federal Institute of Technology, Zurich). The physics Nobel went to astronomer Raymond Davis Jr, (University of Pennsylvania, US) Masatoshi Koshiba, (University of Tokyo) and Riccardo Giacconi (president of Associated Universities Inc, US) for their detection of neutrinos and X-rays from outside the solar system.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments