Nobel Prize in medicine shared for work in immunology

Three scientists, including one who died just days ago, have been awarded the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2011.

October 3, 2011

From left to right: Bruce A. Beutler, Jules A. Hoffmann and Ralph M. Steinman

The trio, from the US, Canada and Luxembourg, are the first of this year’s Nobel winners, and responsible for discovering key principles for the activation of the immune system.

Bruce A. Beutler and Jules A. Hoffmann were named as joint winners today for their discoveries in the field of innate immunity, while Ralph M. Steinman, who died on 30 September, was named as the third laureate for his discovery of the dendritic cell and its role in adaptive immunity.

Professor Beutler, who is from the US, is professor of genetics and immunology at The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla; Dr Hoffmann, who is from Luxembourg, spent much of his career at the University of Strasbourg and is a former president of the French National Academy of Sciences; and Professor Steinman, who was Canadian, was professor of immunology at Rockefeller University in New York.

All three winners were highlighted as contenders in the recent Nobel Prize predictions compiled by Thomson Reuters analyst David Pendlebury.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Featured Jobs

Assistant Recruitment - Human Resources Office

University Of Nottingham Ningbo China

Outreach Officer

Gsm London

Professorship in Geomatics

Norwegian University Of Science & Technology -ntnu

Professor of European History

Newcastle University

Head of Department

University Of Chichester
See all jobs

Most Commented

men in office with feet on desk. Vintage

Three-quarters of respondents are dissatisfied with the people running their institutions

A face made of numbers looks over a university campus

From personalising tuition to performance management, the use of data is increasingly driving how institutions operate

students use laptops

Researchers say students who use computers score half a grade lower than those who write notes

Canal houses, Amsterdam, Netherlands

All three of England’s for-profit universities owned in Netherlands

As the country succeeds in attracting even more students from overseas, a mixture of demographics, ‘soft power’ concerns and local politics help explain its policy