January 25, 2002


Christ's College, Cambridge

Malcolm Bowie , professor of French literature at Oxford University and a fellow of All Souls College, creator of the Institute of Romance Studies in London and director of the European Humanities Research Centre in Oxford, has been chosen to succeed Alan Munro in July as the college's master.

Cranfield University
Anne Sigismund Huff
, professor of strategic management, has been appointed director of the Economic and Social Research Council's £17 million research initiative.

Institute of Education, London
The institute's new management will comprise four deans in the following specialist areas:
Michael Totterdell
- initial teacher education;
Len Barton
, professor - professional development;
Peter Aggleton
, professor - research and consultancy;
Ingrid Lunt
, professor - doctoral school.

Eight schools will replace academic groups headed by the following:
Arts and Humanities: Graham Welch , professor;
Culture, Language and Communication: Deborah Cameron , professor;
Curriculum, Pedagogy and Assessment: David Halpin , professor;
Early Childhood and Primary Education: Jeni Riley ;
Educational Foundations and Policy Studies: Sally Power , professor;
Lifelong Education and International Development: Karen Evans , professor;
Mathematics, Science and Technology: Michael Reiss , professor;
Psychology and Human Development: Peter Blatchford , professor.

Society of Education Officers of England & Wales
Alan Parker
, executive director of education and lifelong learning at the London Borough of Ealing, today became president of the society.

University of the West of England
Margaret Greenwood
, former consultant in the fields of project and risk management and chair of the Association of Project Management, has been appointed director of executive programmes at the university's business school.

University of York
Jane Thomas-Oates
, currently senior lecturer at the Michael Barber Centre for mass spectrometry at UMIST, has been appointed to a new chair in analytical science in the department of chemistry.


Goldsmiths College, University of London
The university has conferred the title of professor upon the following:
Brian Falconbridge , Visual Arts Department;
Paul Fouracre , Historical and Cultural Studies Department;
Janis Jefferies , Visual Arts Department;
Marjorie Mayo , Professional and Community Education.

Appointments to Readerships, from 26 November 2001:
Christine Geraghty , Media and Communications Department;
Mike Michael , Sociology Department.

Institution of Incorporated Engineers
The Young Woman Engineer of the Year 2001
prize was presented to Clare Roberts , a design engineer from Leeds, currently working with Yorkshire Electricity, West Yorkshire.
Runner up and winner of the WISE/IBM Prize was Jane Stevenson , a planning development engineer at BAE Systems Marine in Glasgow.
A prize for special merit was awarded to Gillian Beamish , electrical design engineer with BAE Systems Aerospace at Warton Lancashire.
The Mary George Memorial Prize was presented to Suzanne Hawkes , development engineer who works for Welwyn Components, Northumberland.

Association of British Orchestras
John Wallace
, principal of the Royal Scottish Academy of Music & Drama, was presented with the association's annual award.

The American Philological Association
Richard Janko, professor in the classics department at University College London, was presented with the Goodwin Award in Philadelphia on 5 January.
The Premio Internazionale Mommsen from the Gruppo Archeologico Flegreo, was presented to Richard Janko in Pozzuoli on 16 Jan, in recognition of his book: Philodemus: On Poems Book 1

Canterbury Christ Church University College
Richard Pring
, chair of educational studies and director of the University of Oxford's department of education, has been awarded an honorary fellowships by the college.

University of Salford
The university has awarded a DLitt to Marion North , principal of the Laban Centre, London for twenty five years service.

University of Stirling
In March an honorary DUniv will be bestowed on Derry Jeffares , honorary professor at the university, formerly Jury professor of English language at the University of Adelaide and professor of English at Leeds University, honorary fellow of the Australian Academy of the Humanities.

University of Westminster
The following people were awarded honorary degrees by the University of Westminster at a series of award ceremonies at the Barbican Centre in London late last year:
Doctor of Letters ( Honoris Causa )
Howard Brenton , playwright - awarded in recognition of services to literature;
Harvey Marshall , lord mayor of Westminster - awarded in recognition of services to the City of Westminster and its communities;
Earl Powell , president of the US Design Management Institute - awarded in recognition of services to design management and education;
Dianne Thompson , chief executive, Camelot Group PLC - awarded in recognition of services to strategic planning and marketing;
Chris Wilkinson , architect - awarded in recognition of services to architecture;

Doctor of Science ( Honoris Causa )
Ken Achard , managing director, Europe, Peavey Electronics Ltd - awarded in recognition of services to business and technology;
Steve Jones , professor, Centre for Human Genetics, UCL - awarded in recognition of services to genetics and science education;
Patrick Pietroni , professor, Regional Educational Support Unit, NHS Executive - awarded in recognition of services to medicine and medical education.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments