Honorary degrees

September 4, 1998

University of Wales

DD: Hans Kung, professor emeritus of ecumenical theology at the University of Tubingen, president of the Foundation Global Ethic in Germany (1995) and Switzerland (1997); David Sheppard, former bishop of Liverpool, vice-chairman of the Archbishop of Canterbury's Commission on Urban Priority Areas (1983-85), president of the Family Services Unit (1987-97) and chairman of the Churches' Enquiry into Unemployment and the Future of Work (1995-97) to be presented April 2000.

DLitt: Gwynn Williams, professor and historian, winner of the Gladstone Prize and the Prince Llywelyn Prize, member of the court, council and academic board of the University of Wales and chairman of the University of Wales Press Board for 13 years.

DSc: Peter Williams, chairman of the Particle Physics and Astronomy Research Council, chairman of trustees of the Science Museum, fellow of the Royal Academy of Engineering, honorary fellow of Selwyn College, Cambridge and University College, London.

LLD: Peter Davies, University of Wales treasurer (1990-1998), member of the council of Techniquest, chairman of the council of the University of Wales, Swansea, non-executive director of Taylor Tiles Holdings Ltd and Wales Fund Management Ltd; James Davies, trustee of the NSPCC and chairman of NSPCC Wales, founding chairman of the Welsh Film Board, member of the court and council of the University of Wales, University of Wales, Bangor and of Coleg Harlech; Judith Evans, director of human resources for Homebase, companion of the Institute of Personnel Management, founder member of the steering group of the National Advisory Council for Careers and Educational Guidance; Glyn Phillips, professor of chemistry, formerly at universities of Cardiff, Salford and Benin, editor-in-chief of Advances in Tissue Banking and executive editor of Food Bydrocolloids, fellow of the Royal Society of Chemistry.

MD: Gareth Crompton, professor of public health medicine at the University of Wales College of Medicine, fellow of the faculty of public health medicine and the Royal College of Physicians, honorary fellow of the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff.

MA: Gareth Edwards, chairman of Hamdden, autobiographer and author of numerous books on rugby, member of the Wales rugby union team and of the British Lions in 1968, 1971 and 1974; Lilian Jones, former head of Ysgol Gyfun Gwynllyw, member of the court and council of the University of Wales, Aberystwyth, honorary president of Cymdeithas y Cumer, Cross Keys and member of the white-robed order of the Gorsedd of Bards.

MSc: John Charles, footballer, member of Wales's World Cup team in 1958: Chris Hallam, secretary of People vs Handicap, chairman of the management committee of the Wales Sports Centre for the Disabled, gold and silver Olympic swimming medallist: Meuric Rees, fellow of the Royal Agriculture Societies, member of the Country Landowners' Association and the Council for the Protection of Rural Wales, member of the Chapter of the Priory for Wales of The Order of St John.

University of Bristol

DLitt: Harold Pinter, playwright, director of film, television and theatre productions, recipient of the German Shakespeare Prize, the European Prize for Literature, the Moli re d'Honneur, Laurence Olivier Award and the David Cohen British Literature Prize in 1995, vice-chairman of PEN and a supporter of Amnesty International; Pierre Vidal-Naquet, professor and director of the Centre Gernet in Paris, historian of ancient Greece; Anthony Wrigley, professor emeritus of economic history and master of Corpus Christi College, Cambridge, president of the British Academy.

LLD: Aung San Suu Kyi, founder of the National League for Democracy, 1991 Nobel Peace Prizewinner.

University of Exeter

DEng: Noel Warner, professor of minerals engineering, University of Birmingham, honorary fellow of the Institution of Mining and Metallurgy, member of the engineering panel for the 1992 and 1996 research assessment exercises.

DLitt: Neil MacGregor, director of the National Gallery in London, chairman of the UK Conference of National Museum Directors, member of the Unesco Advisory Group of the Hermitage, St Petersburg and of the visiting committee of the J. Paul Getty Museum, Malibu.

DMus: Alfred Brendel, concert pianist, author and poet, recipient of numerous international awards.

DSc: John Krebs, chief executive of the National Environment Research Council, president of the International Society for Behavioural Ecology (1988-90) and the Association for the Study of Animal Behaviour (1992-94), research professor of zoology at the University of Oxford.

LLD: Ron Dearing, former chairman and chief executive of the Post Office, board member of the Prudential, British Coal, Whitbread and IMI, chairman of the Committee of Inquiry into Higher Education and chancellor of Nottingham University; Michael Nolan, lord appeal in ordinary, chairman of the Committee on Standards in Public Life, commissioner for the Interception of Communications, former chairman of the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies of the University of London; Robin Butler, former secretary of the cabinet and head of the home civil service, master of University College, Oxford, chairman of governors of Dulwich College and life peer.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments