Glittering prizes

November 9, 2001

The University of Bournemouth will award honorary degrees to: former Liberal Democrat leader Paddy Ashdown ; Mike Milne , director of animation at the FrameStore computer animation company; Sarah Mullally , chief nursing officer of England and director of nursing for the Department of Health; Adrian Rozkovec , consultant physician and cardiologist at the Royal Bournemouth Hospital; and David Bethell , former director of Leicester Polytechnic.

Bill Gullick , of the University of Kent, has become president of the Federation of European Cancer Societies .

Southampton Institute will confer honorary degrees on: Stuart Hampson , chairman of the John Lewis Partnership and former private secretary to a number of ministers and secretaries of state for trade; John Knowles , creator and former director of Marwell Zoological Park and honorary director of Marwell Preservation Trust; Gillian Evans , lecturer in history at the University of Cambridge; James Deodhar , global technology manager for manufacturing solutions at Castrol; Maurice Storey , chief executive of the Maritime and Coastguard Agency; Robin Smith , former member of the English cricket team; and Martin Jay , chief executive of Vosper Thornycroft.

David Jackson , professor of applied optics at the University of Kent, has received the annual award from the applied optics division of the Institute of Physics .

De Montfort University has awarded an honorary doctorate to Bill Lucas , chief executive of the Campaign for Learning.

Abdul Maniruzzaman of the Kent Law School has been elected to membership of the International Chamber of Commerce at the Institute of World Business Law, Paris.

The University of Ulster will today award an honorary degree to Mary McAleese , the president of Ireland.

Gerry McKenna , vice-chancellor of the University of Ulster, has received an honorary degree from the National University of Ireland .

The University of Paisley has presented honorary doctorates to: Andrew Neil , broadcaster and journalist; Gerry Edwards , managing director of National Semiconductor Ltd; Roderick Galbraith , professor of aerospace engineering at the University of Glasgow; Peter Hughes , chief executive of Scottish Engineering; and David Landale , chairman of the Crichton Foundation.

Anglia Polytechnic University will present honorary degrees to: Jeff Randall , BBC business editor; Eddy Shah , former media tycoon; David Prior , former Conservative MP; Bruce Black , former principal of Norwich Institute of Art and Design; Michael Marshall , chairman and chief executive of Marshalls of Cambridge; and David Hammond , international executive and fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants.

The following staff at the University of Kent have been elected academicians of the Academy of Learned Societies for the Social Sciences: Peter Taylor-Gooby , professor of social policy; Roger Vickerman , professor of European economics; and Tony Thirlwall , professor of applied economics.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most commented

Recent controversy over the future directions of both Stanford and Melbourne university presses have raised questions about the role of in-house publishing arms in a world of commercialisation, impact agendas, alternative facts – and ever-diminishing monograph sales. Anna McKie reports

3 October


Featured jobs

Senior Lecturer in Law

University Of The West Of England (uwe)

Lecturer in Marketing

Edinburgh Napier University

Resource Planner

Bpp University

Waste and Recycling/Grounds Operative

St Marys University, Twickenham

Faculty, English

Khalifa University