Glittering prizes

October 26, 2001

Dartington College of Arts will confer honorary awards on: artist Ewart Johns ; John Bull , vice-chancellor of the University of Plymouth; Marcus Davey , chief executive of the Roundhouse; Rose Fenton and Lucy Neal , directors of the London International Festival of Theatre; artist Gustav Metzger ; and Chris Crickmay , who is former head of art at Dartington College of Arts.

University of Glamorgan lecturer Matthew Franci s was shortlisted for the Forward Poetry prize for his poetry collection Dragons .

Sir Harry Kroto , Nobel prizewinner and research professor at the University of Sussex, has been awarded the Royal Society's Michael Faraday Award for 2001.

The Peter Gruber award for advancing our understanding of the universe has been awarded to Sir Martin Rees , astronomer royal and Royal Society research professor at the University of Cambridge.

Mel Greaves , director of leukaemia research at the Institute of Cancer Research, London, has been awarded the Jose Carreras award .

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments