Glittering prizes

October 19, 2001

Rosemary Barberet , lecturer in criminal justice at the University of Leicester, has been elected chair of the international division of the American Society of Criminology .

The University of Luton has awarded honorary degrees to: Trevor Baylis , inventor of the clockwork radio; Dennis Keech , supporter of the Keech Cottage Children's Hospice; and Fu Zetian , vice-president of the China Agricultural University.

The Hungarian Academy of Sciences has elected Hugh Beale , professor of law at the University of Warwick, as an honorary member.

Cheltenham and Gloucester College of Higher Education is bestowing honorary fellowships on: Tony Butler , retired chief constable of Gloucestershire; Terry Haines , ex-mayor of Gloucester; Patricia Putnam , patron of the college's Festival of Arts and Performance; John Houghton , chair of the John Ray initiative; and Richard Alcock , a local businessman with Arjo. Lord Dearing , former chairman of the National Committee of Inquiry into Higher Education, will receive an honorary doctorate.

De Montfort University is awarding honorary degrees to: John Constable , director of Cranfield School of Management; and Paula Radcliffe , world cross-country champion.

The Gelber Prize for non-fiction has been awarded to Robert Skidelsky , professor of economics at the University of Warwick, for his biography of John Maynard Keynes.

Erika Szyszczak , of the University of Leicester , has been awarded a Jean Monnet personal chair in European law.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments