Glittering prizes

August 17, 2001

Kate Storey , a principal investigator who runs a research group in the Wellcome Trust Biocentre at the University of Dundee, has received a five-year senior non-clinical fellowship worth £900,000 from the Medical Research Council .

Tom Owen-Hughes , Joost Zomerdijk and Bill Hunter , who each run research groups in the Wellcome Trust Biocentre at Dundee, have secured five-year senior research fellowships in basic biomedical sciences from the Wellcome Trust . These fellowships total more than £3 million.

The University of Greenwich has awarded honorary degrees to: former prime minister Sir Edward Heath (LLD); Jools Holland , pianist, bandleader and broadcaster (DMus); David Michael , detective inspector in the Metropolitan Police Service and a founding member of the Black Police Association (LLM); General Sir John Stibborn , former chief royal engineer, former commandant of the Royal Military College of Science and master general of the Ordnance (DSc); Keith Warren , chairman of the Court of Governors and pro-chancellor of the university (DSc); John Pelling , former president of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, Building Surveyors Divisional Council and founding president of the Association d'Experts Européens du Bâtiment et de la Construction (DSc); Hilary Samson-Barry , former head of health development for the National Health Service Executive in the London region and now head of health and strategy integration for the Greater London Authority (DSc); Peter Riddell , assistant editor of The Times (DLitt); Joan Thirsk , retired reader in economic history at the Univer-sity of Oxford (DLitt); Colin Richards , national chair of the Association for the Study of Primary Education and the National Primary Teacher Education Conference (DEd).

Martin Sweeting , chief executive of Surrey Satellite Tech-nology Ltd, has received the 2001 World Technology Award for Space .

Brian Foster , of the University of Bristol, has been elected chairman of the European Committee for Future Accelerators .

The University of Wales , Bangor has awarded honorary fellowships to: entrepreneur Colyn Garnder , chair of Birchin International; Gareth Glyn , composer and broadcaster; Phillip Jones Griffiths , photographer; Emyr Humphreys , novelist; Tom Jones , regional industrial organiser for the Transport and General Workers Union; Cefin and Rhian Roberts , music and drama teachers; Lyn Donaldson Wright , director of the Virginia Institute of Marine Science in the United States; The Reverend Harri Parri , minister and writer; Eleri Wynne Jones , a member of the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales; Jim Davies , former principal of the Coleg Normal; and Gwynn Davies , chairman of Antur Waunfawr, a company regenerating and providing work in the north Wales community.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments