Glittering prizes

August 10, 2001

Beverley Naidoo , a visiting fellow at Southampton University's research and graduate school of education, has won the Carnegie Medal for children's literature for her novel The Other Side of Truth .

Sussex University has awarded honorary degrees to: Glynn Jones , chief executive of Brighton and Hove City Council, and a member of the court and council of the university (DUniv); Mamphela Ramphele , whose work as a civil rights leader helped to shape the new South Africa (LLD); Michael Mingos , professor of inorganic chemistry at Oxford University (DSc).

Nottingham Trent University has awarded honorary degrees to: Lynne Brindley , chief executive of the British Library (DLitt); Richard Brook , chief executive of the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (DSc); Francis Ching , architect, author and professor at the University of Washington, Seattle (DDes); David Falvey , executive director of the British Geological Survey (DSc); Michael Napier, president of the Law Society (LLD); and Terry Waite , lecturer, writer and broadcaster (DLitt).

De Montfort University has awarded honorary degrees to: Juliet Wilson-Bareau , writer and art expert; Terence Daintith , dean of the School of Advanced Study, University of London; Edward Roderick , group chief executive, Christian Salvesen plc; Ramutis Bansevicius , Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania; William Dawson , managing director, Bionet Ltd; Pamela Grunwell , former head, department of human communication, De Montfort; Hilary Carty , director of dance, Arts Council of England; Stephen Frears , film director.

Satish Kumar , editor of Resurgence and director of the Schumacher College, has been awarded an honorary doctorate of letters from the University of Lancaster , where he teaches ecology and ethics.

The Society of Chemical Industry has made the following awards: Sir John Cadogan received the SCI Society Medal; Sir Harold Kroto received SCI honorary membership. SCI distinguished service awards went to: Kurt Berger , John Buekett , Peter Cross , Derek Clifford , Eric Ford , William Hopkin , Peter Howgate , John Lewis , Cedric Rice , Neville Rice , Brian Vincent and John Weber .

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments