Glittering prizes

July 20, 2001

King's College London has awarded fellowships to: Josephine Crocker , chairman of the King's Association; Judith Dunn , research professor at the Institute of Psychiatry; Thomas Lehner , professor of basic and applied immunology at Guy's, King's and St Thomas' School of Medicine; Ian McColl , deputy speaker of the House of Lords and former professor of surgery at Guy's; Michael Morpurgo , children's author and founder of the Farms for City Children charity; Janet Nelson , professor of medieval history at King's, vice-president of the British Academy and president of the Royal Historical Society; Linda Newson , professor of geography at the college; Malcolm Sims , director of research support; Colin Slee , dean of Southwark Cathedral and former chaplain, tutor and student at King's; and Lewis Wolpert , professor of biology as applied to medicine at University College London. It also awarded an honorary fellowship to Mortimer Sackler , philanthropist and chairman of Purdue Pharma and the Purdue Frederick Company.

The London Institute has awarded an honorary professorship to Adrian Noble , artistic director of the Royal Shakespeare Company, and honorary doctorates to: Nicholas Serota , director of The Tate; Tina Brown , editor of the New Yorker; Harold Evans , former editor of The Times ; and architect Sir Norman Foster . John Napier , honorary associate artist of the RSC becomes a fellow.

Liverpool John Moores University has awarded honorary fellowships to: Anthony Cragg , sculptor; Andreas Whittam Smith , founding editor of The Independent and president of the British Board of Film Classification; Vincent Burk , founder of Burk Ford Insurance and broadcaster; Janet Finch , vice-chancellor of Keele University; Lorna Muirhead , president of the Royal College of Midwives; Anne Merriman , medical director of Hospice Africa; Roger Phillips , BBC Radio Merseyside producer and presenter; Tom Bloxham , chairman of Urban Splash; John Peel , broadcaster and writer; Colin Roberts , former postgraduate dean of the UK Public Health Laboratory Service and now part-time consultant at John Radcliffe Hospital, Oxford.

The high-energy physics board of the European Physical Society has awarded: Donald Perkins , of Oxford University, the 2001 prize; Arnulf Quadt , of Bonn University, the young physicist prize; Steven Gubser , of the California Institute of Technology, the Gribov medal; and Christine Sutton , of Oxford, and Erik Johansson , of Stockholm University, the outreach prize.

The Royal Academy of Engineering has awarded silver medals to: Henry Beker , founder of Baltimore Technologies; websphere architect Mandy Chessell ; Neil Harvey , of Rolls-Royce; and Howard Hodson , professor of aerothermal technology at the University of Cambridge.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns