Glittering prizes

April 27, 2001

Alfred Cerezo , of the University of Oxford, has received the Beilby medal and prize, awarded jointly by the Institute of Materials, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Society of Chemical Industry .

The American National Association for Research in Science Teaching has awarded John Gilbert , professor of education at Reading University, its award for distinguished contributions to science education through research.

Journalist Sheena McDonald and former director of the Wellcome Trust Dame Bridget Ogilvie are to be awarded honorary degrees from the University of St Andrews .

The Society of Chemical Industry has awarded Sir Richard Sykes , rector of Imperial College, London, its Centenary medal.

The Institute of Materials has announced the following awards to academics: John Humphreys of Manchester Materials Science Centre, Umist, has won the Griffith medal and prize; John Martin of the University of Oxford has won the platinum medal; Peter Lee of Imperial College, has won the Grunfeld medal and prize; Geoff Gibson of the University of Newcastle has won the Holliday prize; Fredrik Glasser of the University of Aberdeen has won the Kroll medal and prize; Philip Withers of Manchester Materials Science Centre, Umist, has won the Rosenhain medal and prize; Mike Lewis of the University of Warwick has won the Verulam medal and prize; Anne Neville of Heriot-Watt University and Trevor Hodgkiess of the University of Glasgow have won the Guy Bengough award; Sergio Diaz and Costas Soutis of Imperial College, have won the composites award; Anne-Françoise Gourgues of the Ecole des Mines de Paris, and Harvey Flower and Trevor Lindley of Imperial College, have won the Cook/Ablett award; Patrick Leevers of Imperial College, shares the Alan Glanvill award with two postgraduate students; and Andrew Winn of the Manchester Materials Science Centre, Umist, and Richard Todd of the University of Oxford have won the Pfeil award.

Patrick Echlin , who recently retired from the University of Cambridge, has been awarded the Microscope Society of America 's distinguished scientist award for the biological sciences.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments