Glittering prizes

March 2, 2001

The University of North London has conferred honorary degrees on: Jane Lane , formerly of the education department in the Commission for Racial Equality; footballer Ian Wright ; Lord Clinton-Davies , consultant on European affairs and law; George Alagiah , world affairs correspondent for the BBC; film-maker Ken Loach ; Sir Michael Rutter , head of child and adolescent psychiatry at the University of London; and Aubrey Rose , vice-chairman of the Commission for Racial Equality.

Mary McAleese , president of Ireland, has received an honorary degree from Manchester Metropolitan University .

The International Society of Electrochemistry has awarded its Frumkin memorial medal to Roger Parsons of the University of Southampton.

The University of Stirling has conferred honorary degrees on: Marjorie Russell , a former accommodation officer at the university; Lord Penrose ; and sportsman William Clark .

The University of Bristol has awarded honorary degrees to: Sir William Taylor , former principal of the universities of London, Hull and Huddersfield; and Mervyn Alexander , bishop of Clifton and former chaplain to Roman Catholic students at the university.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns