Glittering prizes

April 21, 2000

Sir David Barnes, deputy chairman of AstraZeneca, has received the 2000 Society of Chemical Industry (SCI) Centenary Medal, awarded to a figure of high distinction in science-based industry.

Joseph Farnam, Brian Gardiner and Jonathan Shanklin, of the British Antarctic Survey, who discovered the Antarctic ozone hole, have received the SCI environment medal.

Lord Marshall of Knightsbridge, chairman of British Airways, will receive an honorary doctorate of laws, and Bhikhu Parekh, professor of political theory at the University of Hull, an honorary doctorate of letters, from the University of Lincolnshire and Humberside in July.

Suffolk College is to award honorary degrees to John Day, consultant physician at the Diabetes Centre, Ipswich Hospital NHS Trust (DSc); John Simpson, BBC world affairs editor (DLitt); Sir Michael Hopkins, architect (DLitt); Maggi Hambling, artist (DLitt); Sir John Mills, actor (DLitt); and Billie Whitelaw, actress (DLitt).

Chris Reynolds, senior research fellow and lecturer at the University of Reading, has received the British Society of Animal Science Sir John Hammond Memorial Award for his contribution to the understanding of nutrient metabolism in growing and lactating ruminants.

Mark Tatham, professor of linguistics at the University of Essex, has received the biennial Svend Smith Award for research excellence, from the International Society for the Phonetic Sciences.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments