Glittering prizes

August 13, 1999

Nigel Reeves, pro vice-chancellor for external affairs at Aston University, has received the Officer's Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany for his contribution to British-German relations, particularly in the field of promoting use of German in business studies.

The Royal Anthropological Institute has awarded the Wellcome Medal for Anthropology as Applied to Medicine to Allan Young, professor of anthropology in the department of social studies of medicine at McGill University.

Chris Bovis, professor of law at the University of Central Lancashire, has been awarded a Jean Monnet chair in European Business Law.

Bill Chambers, dean of arts and sciences at Liverpool Hope University College, is to receive a Queen Mother's Birthday Award for environmental improvement allocated by the Tidy Britain Group.

The University of Wales, Bangor has bestowed honorary fellowships on: television personality Carol Vorderman; Welsh

language broadcaster Caryl Parry Jones; Welsh poet Alan Llwyd; publisher Emlyn Evans; Welsh-language teacher Menai Williams; tenor Gwyn Hughes Jones; geneticist Leo Sachs; and Jakie McGlade, director of the Natural Environment Research Council's Centre for Coastal and Marine Sciences, Plymouth.

The University of Bristol has awarded honorary degrees to: William Gambling, former professor of optical communication, University of Southampton (DEng); John Braunholtz, research chemist and chairman of the University of Bristol Agricultural Committee (DSc); George Ferguson, architect (MA); Dan McKenzie, Royal Society research professor of earth sciences, Cambridge (DSc); Liam Donaldson, chief medical officer for England (DMed); Eddie George, governor of the Bank of England (LLD); Sir

Robert Wall, pro-chancellor of the university (DEng); Andrew Sheng Len Tao, public servant, Hong Kong (LLD); Derek Zutshi, rheumatologist (LLD); the Right Honourable Sir Stephen Sedley, Lord Justice of Appeal (LLD); Michael Parry, university registrar (MA); Basil Davison, historian (DLitt); Tony Robinson, actor (MA); Pearlette Louisy, governor-general, St Lucia (LLD); Patricia Easterling, regius professor of Greek, Cambridge (DLitt); Aglaia Hill, founder of the Bristol Anglo-

Hellenic Cultural Society (MA).

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments