Engineering fellows

July 22, 2005

* The Royal Academy of Engineering has awarded honorary fellowships to the following: Sir Keith O'Nions , director-general of the Research Councils, Office of Science and Technology; and Lord May of Oxford , president of the Royal Society.

* The following were elected fellows: Trevor Mark Benson , professor of optoelectronics, Nottingham University; Ian David Lockhart Bogle , professor of chemical engineering, University College London; David Cebon , reader in mechanical engineering, Cambridge University; Howard Allaker Chase , head of the department of chemical engineering, Cambridge;

Brian Lawrence Davies , professor of medical robotics, Imperial College London; John Allan Dodds , professor and director, Ecole des Mines d'Albi, Centre de Recherche Poudres et Procedes, Albi; John Kelvin Fidler ; vice-chancellor of Northumbria University, chairman of Engineering Council UK; Peter John Fleming , professor of industrial systems control, Sheffield University; Vincent Francis Fusco , head of the High Frequency Research Group and director of Microwave and Millimetre Wave Research Centre, Queen's University, Belfast; Dougal Jocelyn Goodman , director, Foundation for Science and Technology; Sir (Charles) Anthony Richard Hoare , senior researcher, Microsoft Research Cambridge, emeritus professor, Oxford University; Howard Peter Hodson , professor of aerothermal technology, Whittle Laboratories, Cambridge; Michael Anthony Jackson , visiting research professor, maths and computing, the Open University, visiting professor computer science, Newcastle upon Tyne University; (Guy) Antony Jameson , Thomas V. Jones professor of engineering, Stanford University;

Nicholas Jenkins , professor and group leader, Electrical Energy and Power Systems Group, Manchester University; Nicholas Robert Jennings , professor of computer science, Southampton University; Christopher Robin Lowe , director, Institute of Biology and professor of biotechnology, Cambridge; (Patrick) Enda O'Connell ; professor of water resources engineering, Newcastle upon Tyne; David N. Payne , director, Optoelectronics Research Centre, Southampton University; Amanda Karen Petford-Long , professor of materials and tutor in engineering materials, Corpus Christi College, Oxford; Roger David Pollard , executive dean, faculty of engineering, Leeds University;

Malcolm H. Pope , professor, department of biomedical physics and bioengineering, Aberdeen University and sub-dean (Scotland), Royal Society of Medicine; Keith Ridgway , professor of manufacturing, Sheffield University; Bernard Lawson Weiss , professor of microelectronics and pro vice-chancellor, Surrey University; and Philip John Withers , professor of materials science, Manchester.

* The following were elected international fellows: Kemal Hanjalic (Netherlands), professor and head of thermal and fluids sciences, Delft University of Technology; and Man Mohan Sharma (India), honorary professor, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research, Bangalore.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments