January 16, 2004

Geoff Hall , former director of learning programmes at the Learning and Skills Council, has been appointed principal and chief executive of New College Nottingham.

The University of Oxford has appointed Mary J. Carruthers , Erich Maria Remarque professor of literature and dean of humanities at New York University, to a visiting professorship. Graham Gibbs , professor and director of the Centre for Higher Education Practice at the Open University, has been appointed director of the Institute for the Advancement of University Learning.

The Leadership Foundation for Higher Education has appointed James Ross , deputy chairman of National Grid Transco, chair; and Ewart Wooldridge , former head of the Civil Service College and chief executive of the Centre for Management and Policy Studies, chief executive. The following board members have been appointed: David Allen , registrar and secretary of the University of Exeter; Raman Bedi , chief dental officer for England; Antony Chapman , vice-chancellor of the University of Wales Institute, Cardiff; Ivor Crewe , vice-chancellor, University of Essex and president of Universities UK; Tariq Durrani , deputy principal, University of Strathclyde; Roderick Floud , vice-chancellor, London Metropolitan University; Diana Green, vice-chancellor, Sheffield Hallam University; Ron Haylock , president of the University of Nottingham's council; Sara Parkin , programme director, Forum for the Future; Katharine Perera , senior pro vice-chancellor, University of Manchester; Joan Stringer , vice-chancellor of Napier University; and Pam Taylor , principal, Newman College of Higher Education.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs

Senior Lecturer in Computer Science

University Of Greenwich

Lecturer in Drama

St Marys University, Twickenham

Maths Intervention Tutor

University College Birmingham