Honorary degrees

December 12, 1997

University of Oxford. DCL: Vaclav Havel, president of the Czech Republic.

Queen Margaret College, Edinburgh

DBA: George Borthwick, president of Ethicon Europe, governor of the college (1989-1995) and honorary fellow of the Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh.

DLitt: Blaise Cronin, former principal research officer at the Association of Information Management, professor of information science at Indiana University; Prue Leith, cookery writer and broadcaster, UK's Business Woman of the Year 1990, vice president of the Restaurateurs' Association of Great Britain, trustee of the Good Food Foundation and British Food Heritage Trust.

DSc: David Carter, Regius chair of clinical surgery at the University of Edinburgh, chief medical officer for Scotland.

University of Lincolnshire and Humberside

Honorary doctorates have been presented to: John Godber, playwright and artistic director of Hull Truck Theatre; Peter Townsend, emeritus professor of social policy at the University of Bristol; John Davison, co-founder and former chief executive of the Groundwork Trust.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns