April 26, 1996

UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER. An honorary chair in law was awarded to Mary Robinson, president of Ireland on March 17, in recognition of her inspirational role in the advancement of women in society and her contribution to law. Mary Robinson is a member of the Irish Bar and the English Bar (Middle Temple) and a former professor of constitutional and criminal law at Trinity College, Dublin.


Professorships have been conferred on: M. Woolley, director of the school of design research; Upkar Pardesi, head of the business school. A visiting professorship has also been awarded to: Richard McMahon, director of nursing and quality at the Rugby NHS Trust, in the faculty of health and social sciences.

QUEEN MARY AND WESTFIELD COLLEGE C. Lichtenstein, lecturer in genetic engineering at Imperial College, chair of molecular biology; Jennifer Cheshire, professor at the Universities of Fribourg and Neuchatel, Switzerland, chair of linguistics; A. Vlcek, Institute of Physical Chemistry in Prague, chair of inorganic chemistry. The title of professor has been conferred on: J. Ramsden, reader in modern history.

St Bartholomew's and the Royal London School of Medicine and Dentistry Y. Carter, senior lecturer at the University of Birmingham has been appointed to the chair of general practice.

The following University of London titles have also been conferred: M. Armstrong-Jones, reader, professor of neurophysiology; J. Coid, senior lecturer, professor of forensic psychiatry; L. Doyal, reader, professor of medical ethics; R. Iles, reader, professor of biochemistry of metabolic disorders; I. Phillips, reader, professor of molecular biology; R. Reznek, senior lecturer, professor of medical imaging; M. Sugden, reader, professor of cellular biochemistry.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs