British Academy

August 4, 1995

Officers for 1995/96 will be:

Sir Keith Thomas (president); Professors G. Beer and P. Haggett (vice presidents); J.S. Flemming (treasurer); Professor B. Supple (foreign secretary); Professor D. Luscombe (publications secretary).

Fellows: Professor K. Binmore (University College London) economics; Dr D. Brading (University of Cambridge) Latin American studies; Professor R. Bradley (University of Reading) archaeology; Professor M. Budd (University College London) philosophy; Dr P. David (University of Oxford) economic history; Professor C. Dyer (University of Birmingham) history; Professor J. Ermisch (University of Essex) economic demography; Professor L. Freedman (King's College London) strategic studies; Dr J. Gage (University of Cambridge) history of art; Dr D. Gallie (University of Oxford) sociology;

Dr A. Gell (LSE) anthropology; Professor R. Higginbotham (University of Oxford) linguistics; Professor R. Higgins (London School of Economics & Political Science) law; Dr J. Killen (University of Cambridge) classics; Professor d. Livingstone (Queen's University of Belfast) geography; Dr D. McKitterick (University of Cambridge) bibliography; Professor S. Marks (School of Oriental and African Studies) African history; Dr J. Morrill (University of Cambridge) history; A. Murray (University of Oxford) history; Professor B. Rudden (University of Oxford) law; Dr E. Shaffer (University of East Anglia) literature; Dr K. Sparck Jones (University of Cambridge) computational linguistics; Professor H. Spufford (Roehampton Institute) history; Dr O. Taplin (University of Oxford) classics; C. Taylor (formerly Royal Commission on the Historic Monuments of England) archaeology; Professor R. Thomson (University of Oxford) Armenian studies;

Professor L. Tyler (Birkbeck College) psycholinguistics; Professor J. Woodhouse (University of Oxford) Italian studies; Dr V. Wright (University of Oxford) political studies; Dr T. Zeldin (University of Oxford) history.

Senior Fellows: Professor M. Dummett (formerly University of Oxford) philosophy; Professor A. Halsey (formerly University of Oxford) sociology; Professor R. Wernham (formerly University of Oxford) history.

Corresponding Fellows: Professor R. Aumann (Israel) economics; Dr A.Bounni (Syria) archaeology; Professor N. Davies (US) history; Professor E. Farnsworth (US) law; Professor E. Fischer-Jurgensen (Denmark) phonetics; Professor I. Hacking (Canada) philosophy; Professor J. Hillgarth (Canada) history; Professor C. Hosoya (Japan) history; Professor H. Inalcik (Turkey) history; Professor R. Lane (US) political science; Professor H-JMartin (France) bibliography; Professor S. Slive(US) history of art; Professor H. von Staden (US) classics; Professor D. Woodward (US) geography.

Honorary Fellow: Lord Young of Dartington.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs