August 1, 1997

George B. Dantzig Prize

The Mathematical Programming Society and the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics have awarded the prize to Roger Fletcher, professor of mathematics at the University of Dundee, and fellow winner, Steve Robinson of the University of Wisconsin.

1997 Yukio Hasegawa Award

Derek Seward, lecturer in engineering at Lancaster University, will receive the award for his exceptional contribution towards construction automation and robotics research in a paper he wrote with research associate Steve Quayle for the 1996 symposium.

The Beilby Medal and Prize, 1997

The award from the Institute of Materials, the Royal Society of Chemistry and the Society of Chemical Industry has gone to Richard Williams of the Camborne School of Mines, University of Exeter, for work of exceptional practical significance to industry.

1997 Bader Prize

The Royal Society of Chemistry has awarded the 1997 Bader Prize for eminence in organic chemistry to an academic in the UK who does not hold a professorship to D. Widdowson, chemistry department at Imperial College, London.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. Further information see NetGazette on

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments


Featured jobs

CRM Officer

University Of Greenwich

Department Administrator, Sport St Mary’s

St Marys University, Twickenham

Project Coordinator, Fuse

Durham University

Employment Skills Adviser

University Of Lincoln

Freelance Marker

Bpp University