July 24, 1998

Glasgow School of Art

Ian McLaren, former professor and head of school at Portsmouth and Middlesex, has been appointed head of visual communication; Thomas Cooper, head of fine art photography, has been awarded a professorship by the University of Glasgow.

Keele University

Philip Hunter, director of education at Staffordshire County Council, has been appointed honorary professor of education.

University of Birmingham

Joe Biddlestone, professor of chemical engineering and head of school, has been appointed dean of engineering; Christopher Baker, professor in civil engineering at the University of Nottingham, chair of environmental fluid mechanics; Doug Carroll, professor of applied psychology, has been appointed head of the school of sport and exercise sciences; Nicholas Craddock, Wellcome Trust senior research fellow in clinical sciences, clinical chair of molecular psychiatry; Philip Leather, South Bank University, chair of housing and urban renewal; Paul Moss, Kay Kendall Leukaemia Fund research fellow at the University of Oxford, clinical chair of haematology; Philip Murray, senior clinical lecturer, clinical chair of ophthalmology; Geoff Petts, professor of physical geography, head of the school of geography; Christopher Rogers, reader at Loughborough University, chair of geotechnical engineering; Tauny Southwood, senior lecturer and consultant, clinical chair of paediatric rheumatology; Ken Spencer, professor of local policy, head of the school of public policy.

The title of professor has been conferred on the following readers: Andrew Barker, school of humanities; Geert-Jan Boons, chemistry; Colin Greaves, chemistry; Stuart Abell, functional materials; Kevin Chipman, biochemistry; Robert Curtis, combination algebra and head of the school of mathematics and statistics; John Fender, macroeconomics; John Garvey, particle physics; John Jennings, political theory; Mike Kearsey, biometrical genetics; Martin Kendall, clinical pharmacology; Donald Knight, water engineering; Igor Lerner, theoretical physics; Anthony Smith, oral biology; John Wenham, music history, Gordon Woodman, comparative law.

The title of professor has been conferred on the following senior lecturers: Kevin Brown, forensic and family psychology; Steve Ellis, English literature; John Raine, management in criminal justice; Caroline Savage, nephrology; Jane Riddoch, cognitive neuropsychology.

Arnold Hughes, director of the centre for West African studies, professor of African politics.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further details contact Net Gazette

登录 或者 注册 以便阅读全文。




  • 获得编辑推荐文章
  • 率先获得泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名相关的新闻
  • 获得职位推荐、筛选工作和保存工作搜索结果
  • 参与读者讨论和公布评论


Log in or register to post comments


Recent controversy over the future directions of both Stanford and Melbourne university presses have raised questions about the role of in-house publishing arms in a world of commercialisation, impact agendas, alternative facts – and ever-diminishing monograph sales. Anna McKie reports

3 October