On the move

September 22, 2000

Michael Brown, pro vice-chancellor of De Montfort University, has been appointed vice-chancellor of Liverpool John Moores University.

Peter Gilroy, of Manchester Metropolitan University, will be chair of the Universities Council for the Education of Teachers from August 2001.

Three independent members of the new National Training Organisations Advisory Group will be: chairman Llew Aviss, former member of the National Skills Task Force; Jill Wilson, managing director of housing development companies in Yorkshire; and Jeannie Drake, deputy general secretary of the Communication Workers Union.

The Department for Education and Employment has appointed the following local Learning and Skills Council executive directors: Lincolnshire/ Rutland: Marilyn Hawkins, principal of Grimsby FE College; Northamptonshire: Rob Wye, head of efficiency division, DFEE; Derbyshire: David Hughes, executive director, Nottingham Voluntary Service; Leicestershire: David Nelson, chief executive, Leicestershire Training and Enterprise Council; Nottinghamshire: Rob Valentine, director of education, Notts County Council; Bedfordshire: Linda Hockey, head of national training organisation and qualifications, improvement and development agency

Cambridgeshire: Stephen Catchpole, chief executive, Peterborough Chamber of Commerce; Hertfordshire: Roy Bain, chief executive, Hertfordshire TEC; Norfolk: John Brierley, chief executive, Norfolk and Waveney TEC; Suffolk: Mike Bax, managing director Suffolk TEC; London central: Jacqueline Henderson, chief executive, TEC national council; London north: Verity Bullough, executive director North London TEC; London east: Mary Conneely, chief executive, Newham Training and Education Centre; London west: Peter Pledger, deputy director, London TEC Council; Tyne and Wear: Chris Roberts, executive director, North Tyneside Council; County Durham: Austin McNamara, head teacher, Framwellgate School; Tees Valley: Pam Eccles, director of enterprise, Tees Valley TEC; Northumberland: Susan Bickerton, head, University for Industry in the Northeast; Cumbria: Mick Farley, chief executive Career Decisions; Merseyside/ Halton: Paul Holme, head of resources, DFEE; Lancashire: Steve Palmer, managing director, Enterprise Cumbria; Cheshire: Julia Dowd, regional director, Further Education Funding Council; Greater Manchester: Liz Davis, chief executive, South and East Cheshire TEC; Surrey: Nick Wilson, director of skills and enterprise, Government Office for the Southeast; Kent: Simon Norton, head of marketing, Employment Service; Sussex: Henry Ball, principal, Lewes Tertiary College; Oxford, Milton Keynes, Bucks: Lynda Purser, consultant, Teaching Trade Directorate; Hampshire/ IoW: Hilary Chadwick, deputy managing director, Hampshire TEC; Berkshire: Jay Mercer, chief education officer, West Berkshire Council; Devon and Cornwall: Paul Lucken, director of operations, Prosper Group; Somerset: Dugald Sandeman, head of strategy, Qualifications and Curriculum Authority; Gloucestershire: Roger Crouch, director of education, Gloucestershire; Dorset: Patricia Taylor, deputy chief education officer, Birmingham; Wiltshire: Gary Williams, principal of Weston College

Avon: Paul May, chief executive, North Somerset Unitary Authority; Staffordshire: Adele Bebb, acting director of education, Knowsley; Birmingham and Solihull: David Cragg, chief executive, Rapra Technology; Herefordshire and Worcestershire: Alan Curless, chief executive, Herefordshire and Worcestershire Chamber of Commerce; the Black Country: David Way, director of business, Government Office for the West Midlands; Coventry and Warwickshire: Malcolm Gillespie, chief executive, Coventry and Warwickshire Chamber of Commerce; North Yorkshire: David Harbourne, chief executive, North Yorkshire TEC; South Yorkshire: Christopher Duff, chief executive, Rotherham Chamber of Commerce; West Yorkshire: Margaret Coleman, principal, Huddersfield New College; Humberside: Sheilah Burden, head of operations, Sheffield TEC.

Tony Raven, previously chief executive of Diomed, a maker of medical semiconductor lasers, will be director of the new Centre for Enterprise and Innovation at Southampton University.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments