On the move

June 4, 1999

Keith Gull, professor of molecular biology at the University of Manchester; John Padfield, chief executive of Chiroscience Group; and Margaret Stanley, reader of epithelial biology at the University of Cambridge have been appointed to the council of the Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council. Bernard Atkinson, consultant in process engineering; and David Shannon, chief scientist at the Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food, have been reappointed.

Dorma Urwin, principal of University College Worcester, has been elected chair of the Standing Conference of Principals.

Alain Aspect, quantum optics physicist at the Institut Optique in France, and Thomas Franck, professor of law at the New York University School of Law, will become Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland visiting professors at the Universities of Strathclyde and Glasgow, respectively.

Jonathan Nicholls has been appointed new registrar of the University of Warwick. He will take up the post in September.

George Ebers has been appointed Action Research professor of clinical neurology at the University of Oxford.

Richard Ellis; Peter Garland, John Gregory, Olwen Hufton, Ian Kennedy, Michael Land, Mark Lawson, Roland Levinsky, Barbara Rashbass, James Read, Edward Walker Arnott and Benjamin Zander have been admitted as fellows of University College London. James Burns, Timothy Gowers, Salvador Moncada, Paul Nurse, George Poste and Epaminodas Spiliotopoulos have been admitted as honorary fellows.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments