February 20, 1998


DEng: Alan Cockshaw, chairman of building conglomerate AMEC, non-executive deputy chairman, Norweb plc, chairman, oil and gas projects and supplies office, DTI.

Robert Gordon University

DBA: John Milligan, chairman and founder of Atlantic Power, chairman of Aberdeen Enterprise Trust and governor of the university.

DLitt: John McCormick, controller of BBC Scotland, secretary of the BBC in London (1987-92).

LLD: Alex Ferguson, manager of Manchester United Football Club, former caretaker manager of Scotland.

Honorary fellowship: Malcolm Savidge, MP for Aberdeen North, governor of the former Robert Gordon Institute of Technology; Alex Mair, former chief executive and director of Grampian Television, chairman of RGIT Ltd (a wholly-owned subsidiary of the university).

University of Greenwich

Honorary degrees have been awarded to:

Howard Blackman, long-serving governor of the university; Kenneth Gregory, warden of Goldsmiths College, University of London; Ruth Lea, head of the policy unit of the Institute of Directors; Bill Morris, general secretary of the Transport and General Workers Union; John Houghton, chief executive of the Meteorological Office, former chairman of the Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution; Dame Bridget Ogilvie, director of the Wellcome Trust; Michael Pattison, director of the Sainsbury Family Charitable Trusts and a former pro chancellor of the university.

University of Iceland

Doctor of Theology: Duncan Forrester, professor and dean of the faculty of divinity at the University of Edinburgh.

University of Manchester

The title of honorary companion has been conferred on:

Kay Bellinger, benefactor of Manchester Museum; Peter Giles, chairman of the Riva Group plc and John Foster and Sons plc; John Howarth (honorary secretary) and Delwyn Price (honorary treasurer) of the Manchester dental education centre; Donald McLeod, chairman of the board of trustees of Tabley House Collection; John Newton, founding director and chairman of the executive board of Campus Ventures; Ronald Pike, longstanding supporter of the university's extramural department's courses; Ronald Sharp, member of the court and council and former chairman of the Jodrell Bank visitor centre management committee; Peter Slade, pioneer of education drama and contributor to the John Rylands University Library; Geoffrey Tabbron, Bolton Institute.

For further details see NetGazette http://www.thesis.co.uk

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs