Honorary degrees

December 26, 1997

University of Westminster

DLitt: David Puttnam, film producer, chairman of Enigma Productions Ltd, member of the Arts Council lottery panel; Bill Morris, general secretary of the Transport and General Workers' Union; Ben Okri, Booker Prize winner, fellow commoner in creative arts, Trinity College, Cambridge (1991-94), poetry editor, West Africa (1983-86) and BBC broadcaster, presenter (1983-85); Margaret Charrington, horticulturalist, marketing consultant and governor of the university; Arie de Geus, economics and organisations behaviourist.

DMus: Dave Stewart, rock musician, ex-Eurythmics.

DSc: Richard Dawkins, professor of the public understanding of science and fellow of New College, Oxford, 1990 winner of the Royal Society's Faraday Award; Beryl Platt, life peer, vice president of the University of Manchester Institute of Science and Technology (1985-92), patron of Women into Science and Enterprise; Mike Theis, town planner and engineer, founder of the Max Lock Archive at the university and university governor.

Mineralogical Society of Great Britain and Ireland

The society awarded honorary membership to Emil Constantinescu, the president of Romania. The president was head of the mineralogy department and then rector at the University of Bucharest. He is a member of the Mineralogical Society and his published work is on the topographic mineralogy of Romania.

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments