Glittering prizes

June 1, 2001

The University of Wales, Aberystwyth , has announced its honorary fellows: Rachel Davies , barrister and vice-president of the University of Wales, Swansea; Hywel Edwards , former professor of Welsh at Swansea; Emrys Evans , former senior regional director of Midland Bank, former chairman of council at Swansea and former treasurer of the University of Wales; writer and broadcaster Patrick Hannan ; Aneurin Hughes , head of the European Commission Delegation to Australia and New Zealand; novelist Sîan James ;

William Philpin , former council member of Aberystwyth and former chairman of governors at the Welsh Agricultural College; and Sir John Thomas , High Court judge and presiding judge of the Wales and Chester circuit.

The University of Stirling will award honorary degrees to: broadcaster James Naughtie ; Alf Philip , former domestic manager at the university; Gordon Marshall , chief executive of the Economic and Social Research Council; racing driver Jackie Stewart ; rugby coach and former director of physical education at the University of Bath Tom Hudson ; sports commentator and former head of the Independent Television Commission in Scotland Brian Marjoribanks ; Sir James Black , Nobel laureate and emeritus professor of analytical pharmacology at King's College Hospital Medical School; and Duncan MacLeod , local businessman and charity fundraiser.

The University of Bristol is to award honorary degrees to: structural engineer Ian Liddell ; politician Tony Benn ; Sir David McMurty , chairman and chief executive of Renishaw plc; Keith Scholey , head of the BBC Natural History Unit; Linda Edwards , director of the National Osteoporosis Society; Brian Pickering , deputy vice-chancellor of the University of Bristol; Peter Lampl , chairman of the Sutton Trust; social scientist Edmond Lisle ; classics teacher Barbara Bell ; novelist Karl Stead ; actress Jane Asher ; and Barry Supple , director of the Leverhulme Trust.

Gerry Johnson , professor at the University of Strathclyde's school of business, has won the prize for best paper for the management and organisational cognition division of the American Academy of Management Conference .

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs