Glittering prizes

December 8, 2000

The Institute of Physics has made the following awards for 2001: the Glazebrook Medal and Prize to Colin Webb , University of Oxford, for his leading role in the organisation and promotion of laser physics; the Guthrie Medal and Prize to Laurence Eaves , Nottingham University, for his outstanding contributions to the field of semiconductor physics; the Paul Dirac Medal and Prize to Brian Kidd Ridley , Essex University, in recognition of his profound influence on semiconductor theory; the Max Born Medal and Prize to Volker Heine , Cambridge University, for his pioneering theoretical and computational studies of the electronic structure of solids and their application to physical properties; the Harrie Massey Medal to Anthony Thomas , Australia, for his outstanding contributions to a broad variety of problems in nuclear and particle physics; the Charles Vernon Boys Medal and Prize to Jeremy Baumberg , Southampton University, for his outstanding contributions to the application of ultrafast laser spectroscopy to problems in solid state physics; the Bragg Medal and Prize to George Marx , The Roland Eotvos University, Hungary, in recognition of a lifetime of achievement in physics education; the Charles Chree Medal and Prize to Joseph Farman , the European Ozone Research Coordinating Unit, and Brian Gardiner and Jonathan David Shanklin , the British Antarctic Survey, in recognition of their part in the discovery of the ozone hole over the Antarctic and for linking this to the growth of CFCs in the atmosphere; the Duddell Medal and Prize to James Gimzewski , Zurich Research Laboratory, Switzerland, for his contribution to nanoscale science in the use of scanning probe microscopy; the Kelvin Medal and Prize to Paul Davies , visiting professor at Imperial College, London and University of Queensland, Australia, for his outstanding contribution to the popularisation of physics; the Maxwell Medal and Prize to Benjamin Simons , Cambridge University, for his contribution of insight into mesoscopic physics; the Mott Medal and Prize to Manuel Cardona , The Max Planck Institute for Solid State Research in Germany, in recognition of his contributions to the detailed understanding of the optical and electronic properties of solids; the Paterson Medal and Prize to Joseph Keddie , University of Surrey, for his major contributions to the understanding of the dynamics of polymers at surfaces, in thin films and in colloidal dispersions; the Thomas Young Medal and Prize to Stephen Pennycook , Oak Ridge National Laboratory, United States, for his pioneering work in the development of atomic-resolution scanning transmission electron microscopy.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments