Glittering prizes

September 1, 2000

King Alfred's, Winchester, has awarded honorary fellowships to: Bryan Davies, chairman of Hampshire Economic Partnership; Katrine Sporle, chief executive of Basingstoke and Deane Borough Council; and Roy Farrar, professor and former deputy vice-chancellor of the University of Southampton.

Donald MacLennan, professor of medical research at Toronto University, a pioneer in the discovery of genetic mutations, has won the Royal Society's Glaxo Wellcome prize of a gold medal and Pounds 2,500.

The Institute of Physics has given Public Awareness of Physics awards to the following: Jim Al-Khalili of the University of Surrey, who wrote a physics bestseller; Howie Firth of Moray College, creator of a highly successful blueprint for science festivals; Jim Matthew, Sarah Thompson, Peter Main and Mat Hill of York University, regular actors in the dialogue "Is Science Chaotic?"; Diana Syder, a poet from Derbyshire; and Kathy Sykes from "At-Bristol" in Bristol, for encouraging more women into physics particularly with her "physics of ice cream" demonstration.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments