Glittering prizes

August 25, 2000

Lewis Wolpert, professor of developmental biology at University College London, has won the Royal Society's Michael Faraday Award for the furtherance of public understanding of science. He will receive a silver gilt medal and Pounds 1,000.

The University of Nottingham has awarded honorary degrees to: James McGuinness, Roman Catholic bishop of Nottingham (DD); Dave Brubeck, jazz musician and composer, (D.Mus); David Puttnam, film producer (D.Litt); John Simpson, world affairs editor at the BBC and author (DLitt); Raj Bagri, life peer, founder and chairman of Metdist Ltd (DSc); Robin Nicholson, chairman of Pilkington Optonics Ltd (DSc); Neil Cossons, director of the Science Museum (DSc); Brenda Dean, life peer and chairman of the Housing Corporation (LLD); and Richard Buxton, lord justice of appeal (LLD).

The University of Greenwich has awarded honorary degrees to: Ken Adam, film designer (D.Art); Martin Drury, director-general of the National Trust (D.Art); Christine McVie, songwriter and member of Fleetwood Mac (D.Mus); Wendy Savage, senior lecturer in obstetrics and gynaecology, St Bartholomew's and the Royal London hospitals (DSc); Alec Broers, vice-chancellor of the University of Cambridge (DTech); Anthea Larken, director of the WRNS and ADC to the Queen (LLD); Peter Kent, artist (MA); and Alan Holdsworth, senior equalities manager for Birmingham City Council and singer/songwriter (MMus).

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.