Glittering prizes

August 20, 1999

King Alfred's College, Winchester, will present its own honorary awards for the first time at this year's graduation ceremonies in Winchester Cathedral.

Honorary fellowships go to: Martial Rose, former principal; Christopher Bannerman, professor of dance at Middlesex University; and Janet Trotter, director of Cheltenham and Gloucester College of Higher Education. Honorary degrees go to: The Very Reverend Trevor Beeson, former dean of Winchester Cathedral; Wendy Cope, writer; and Joan Thirsk, historian.

Manchester Metropolitan University has awarded honorary degrees to: Charles Allen, chief executive of Granada Group and chairman of Granada Television (DBA); David Hempleman-Adams, explorer (MSc); Tom Weatherby, former chair of the university's finance and personnel committee (DLitt); and Colin Bundy, former lecturer at Manchester Polytechnic (DLitt).

Royal Holloway and Bedford New College has awarded honorary degrees to: The Honorary Dame Mary Arden, first woman chair of the Law Commission of England and Wales; Patricia Easterling, first woman Regis professor of Greek at the University of Cambridge; Susan Greenfield, first woman director of the Royal Institution; and Dame Pauline Neville-Jones, businesswoman and civil servant.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments