Glittering prizes

June 25, 1999

John Kenneth Galbraith, professor emeritus of Harvard University, will receive the honorary degree of doctor of science from the London School of Economics on Monday.

Liverpool John Moores University is to award honorary fellowships to: Philip Lader, US ambassador to the Court of St James; Penny Hughes, former head, Coca-Cola UK; Ann Lewis, secretary and registrar of Royal Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain; Peter Moloney, public orator and former JMU lecturer; actors Clive and David Swift; Graham Morris, former chief executive of Rolls-Royce; Terry Leahy, chief executive of Tesco.

The University of Glasgow has awarded honorary degrees to: Sir John Olav Kerr, permanent under-secretary at the Foreign and Commonwealth Office (DIur); Neil MacCormick, regius professor of public law, University of Edinburgh (DIur); John Terence Coppock, secretary and treasurer, Carnegie Trust for the Universities of Scotland (DLitt); Stewart Sutherland, principal, University of Edinburgh (DLitt); John Arbuthnott, principal, University of Strathclyde (DSc); Alfred Bader, founder, Aldrich Chemical Company (DSc); Julian Tudor Hart, general practioner (DSc); Russell Hillhouse (DUniv); Jon McCormick, controller, BBC Scotland (DUniv); Richard Wilson, actor and former rector of the University of Glasgow (DUniv).

Middlesex University has awarded honorary degrees to Sir Bernard Ingham, former press secretary to Margaret Thatcher; Lord Younger, former defence secretary; Lord Sainsbury, science minister, former chairman, Sainsbury's plc and founder of the Gatsby Charitable Trust; Lord Levy, president of Jewish Care; Mervyn Eastman, director of social services, London Borough of Enfield; Sara Parkin, environmental campaigner; Lord Nolan, former High Court judge; Roger McCormick, author of Constable and McCormick reports on management education; Lord Sheppard, industrialist; Dame Jocelyn Barrow, founder member of the Campaign Against Racial Discrimination; Ian Vance, chairman of North London Leadership; James Dyson, founder and chairman of Dyson Research; Peter Parish, historian; Ken Warpole, writer; Piers Gough, architect; Thomas Misner, developer of a chain of technology colleges; Lord Harris, campaigner for asylum seekers.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments