Glittering prizes

May 7, 1999

The Open University will award honorary degrees tomorrow to database specialist and lecturer Hugh Darwen (MUniv); education reformer John Tomlinson (DUniv); Alistair Graham, chief executive at Leeds TEC, chairman of the Parades Commission in Northern Ireland and director of Opera North (DUniv); The Right Reverend Lord Sheppard of Liverpool (DUniv) and actress Fiona Shaw (DUniv).

Stuart Hall, visiting professor in sociology at The Open University and member of the Rowntree commission on the future of multi-ethnic Britain, has been made an emeritus professor at the OU.

Clara Taylor, chief examiner at the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music, has been made a fellow of the Royal Academy of Music.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments