Glittering prizes

March 5, 1999

John Maynard Smith, emeritus professor of evolutionary biology at the University of Sussex, has been awarded the Crafoord Prize by the Swedish Academy of Sciences, in particular for his work on game theory.

He will share the $500,000 prize with fellow biologists Ernst Mayr from Harvard University and George C Williams from State University, New York. All three will receive the money and gold medals at a ceremony in Sweden in September.

ITN's anchorman Trevor McDonald has received an honorary doctorate in education from Kingston University for his achievements in broadcasting and his contribution to education, especially his membership on the Committee of Standards of English and activities with local schools.

Recently appointed chancellor of South Bank University, he already holds honorary doctorates of letters from Nottingham University and Southampton Institute and an honorary fellowship at Liverpool John Moores.

Tom Connors, honorary professor in the centre for polymer therapeutics at the School of Pharmacy in London, has won the first Royal Society of Chemistry George and Christine Sosnovsky Award for his contributions to cancer chemotherapy.

He received the award, worth $5,000, and a silver medal this week at the eighth Alfred Spinks Symposium, Interfacing Medicinal Chemistry and Molecular Biology in the Fight against Cancer.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments