Glittering prizes

September 25, 1998

Doreen Massey, 54, professor of geography at the Open University, has won the Vautrin Lud International Geography Prize. She is the first female geographer to receive the honour since it was set up in 1991.

The University of St Andrews will give honorary degrees to: Averil Cameron, warden of Keble College, Oxford (DLitt); Susan Greenfield, department of pharmacology, Oxford (DSc) and Marina Warner, Trinity College, Cambridge (DLitt).

Heriot-Watt University will award Jim Telfer, director of Scottish Rugby Union, the honorary degree of doctor of the university and Michael Gray, senior vice-president, global development at Sykes Europe Limited, an honorary doctorate of engineering at a ceremony to mark the university's merger with the Scottish College of Textiles. Boris Shekanov, a lecturer with Bradford Particle Design, has been awarded an advanced research fellowship by the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments