January 30, 1998

University of Wales, Cardiff

The following former readers have been awarded personal chairs: Michael Bloor, school of social and administrative studies; Kenneth Broadley, Welsh school of pharmacy; Ron Eccles, director of the Common Cold Centre, school of molecular and medical biosciences; Peter Edwards, department of chemistry; Mike Edmunds, department of physics and astronomy; Gwynfor Jones, school of history and archaeology; Roy Richards, school of molecular and medical biosciences; Andrew Vincent, school of European studies; Alasdair Whittle, head of the archaeology section; Julian Wimpenny, school of pure and applied biology.

University of Surrey

Ray Spier, former professor of microbiology at the Animal Virus Research Institute and fellow of the Institution of Chemical Engineers and of Biology, has been appointed to the university's first chair of science and engineering ethics; Stephen Witt, former Lewis professor of tourism studies at the University of Wales, Swansea, has been appointed to a chair in the school of management studies for the service sector as professor of tourism forecasting.

University of Edinburgh

Christopher Bishop, former chair of computer science and applied mathematics at Aston University has been appointed to a chair in computer science.

Queen's University, Belfast

The title of honorary professor has been conferred on Patrick Murphy, director of the Belfast Institute of Further and Higher Education. The title of professor emeritus has been conferred on: John Fulton, professor of education and educational studies; Alan Jennings, professor of civil engineering; Herbert Wallace, professor of property law.

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs