British academy

December 1, 2006

The British Academy awarded the following medals and prizes for 2006:

Burkitt Medal for Biblical Studies: Graham Stanton , Lady Margaret's professor of divinity, Cambridge University; Derek Allen Prize for Celtic Studies: Daniel Huws , former keeper of manuscripts and records, National Library of Wales, Aberystwyth; Rose Mary Crawshay Prize for English Literature: Rosalind Ballaster , fellow in English literature, Mansfield College, Oxford University; Grahame Clark Medal for Prehistoric Archaeology: Geoffrey Wainwright , professor and former chief archaeologist at English Heritage; and the Serena Medal for Italian History: Paul Ginsborg , professor of contemporary European history, University of Florence.

* Four non-academy prizes have been awarded to fellows of the Royal Academy during 2006:

Balzan Prize: Quentin Skinner , regius professor of modern history, Cambridge; Holberg International Memorial Prize: Shmuel Eisenstadt , corresponding fellow of the British Academy and professor emeritus at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem; Lord Lloyd of Kilgerran Award: Bill Hardcastle , research professor and director of speech science research centre, Queen Margaret University College, Edinburgh; and the Philip Leverhulme Prize for History: Holger Hoock , lecturer in British cultural history, Liverpool University, and holder of a British Academy postdoctoral fellowship.

Please login or register to read this article.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments