August 14, 1998

London Mathematical Society

De Morgan Medal: Robert Rankin, professor, University of Glasgow, for his contribution to the theory of numbers.

Senior Berwick Prize: Brian Davies, professor, King's College London, for his contributions to the development of operator theory.

Junior Whitehead Prizes: Jonathan Chapman, University of Oxford, for his contribution to mathematical theory of superconductivity; Jan Nekov r, University of Cambridge, contributions to arithmetic algebraic geometry; Ivor Rivin, University of Warwick, for his work on hyperbolic geometry.

Stephen Smale, distinguished university professor at the City University of Hong Kong, has been elected honorary member of the society, in recognition of his contribution to differential topology, dynamical systems, non-linear analysis, geometric mechanics, mathematical economics and the theory of computation.

Delta Kappa Gamma Society International

The 1998 Educator's Award: Terri Apter, fellow at Clare Hall College, University of Cambridge, for her book The Confident Child: Emotional Coaching for the Crucial Decade - Ages Five to Fifteen.

Political Studies Association

The Bernard Crick Prize for Excellence in Teaching has been awarded to Jonathan Tonge, lecturer in politics at the University of Salford.

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further details see NetGazette

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs