Awards and prizes

July 6, 2001

University of Oxford

The George Webb Medley Prize for best thesis submitted for the MPhil in Economics has been awarded to Thomas W. L. Norman , Nuffield College;
Proxime Accesserunt: George Konaris , Trinity College and Murtaza H. Syed , Nuffield College.

The Prize for the best performance in written papers has been awarded to Wei Yang Y. Cheong , Trinity College;
Proxime Accesserunt: Rebecca Stone , Nuffield College and Phurichai Rungcharoenkitkul , St Antony's College.

An intercollegiate poetry prize (Exeter, Lincoln, Mansfield, Merton, Somerville and St. Hugh's Colleges) has been awarded to Donovan Rees , a finalist in English at St. Hugh's College for his poem Pig .

University of Kent at Canterbury

D.Litt: Tom Wilkinson , actor; Ann Savours Shirley , polar scholar; Wally Fawkes , co-founder of the Humphrey Lyttleton Band and cartoonist (creator of Flook );

DCL: Richard Sturt , HM coroner; Alister Dunning , former director of legal and public affairs at Pfizer's UK and currently the university's treasurer;

DSc: Koki Horikoshi , microbiologist and member of the RIKEN Institute.


Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments