Honorary degrees

July 5, 1996


DUniv: Deborah Cavendish, duchess of Devonshire, patron of Capel Manor Horticultural College; Anish Kapoor, sculptor; Bryan Davies, MP and shadow minister for further and higher education; Ann Bowtell, permanent secretary at the department for social services; Keith Foster, director of engineering profession at the Engineering Council; Helene Hayman, chair of Whittington Hospital Trust; Gordon Pettit, former managing director BR Regional Railways and former university governor; Stephen Pritchard, managing director of The Observer; Ninian Smart, J. F. Rowney professor of religious studies, University of California; Ann Watts, equal opportunities director, Midland Bank.

MUniv: Gordon Bridger, principal of Oak Hill Theological College; Eugene Mgbemere, consultant on improvement of welfare of Nigerians and ethnic and minority groups in North London.

UNIVERSITY OF GLASGOW LLD: Philip Caplan, senator of the college of justice in Scotland; Sanford Fox, expert on child law, Boston College Law School.

DLitt: Sorley MacLean, poet; Pieter Sueren, professor and specialist in semantics at the University of Nijmegen.

DMus: Jane Glover, conductor, lecturer and writer on music.

DSc: Kenneth Calman, chief medical officer of health; Victor Hawthorn, emeritus professor of epidemology at the University of Michigan; Roger Penrose, Rouse Ball professor of mathematics, University of Oxford.

DEng: Alec Broers, professor, University of Cambridge and master of Churchill College; Alan MacDonald, managing director at Jetstream Aircraft Ltd.

DUniv: Forbes Macpherson, former chairman of Glasgow Development Agency and member of the court of the university.

UNIVERSITY OF THE WEST OF ENGLAND MA: Annie (Nancy) Riddick, former governor of Newton Park College of Education and honorary fellow of Bath College of Higher Education.

UMIST The following were awarded honorary degrees on June 12: Michael Atiyah, recently retired president of the Royal Society; William Barlow, president of the Royal Academy of Engineering; Harold Hankins, recently retired principal of the institute; Prue Leith, chairman of the Royal Society of Arts: Robert Satake, industrialist and benefactor of the institute.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments