July 18, 1997

University College, London

Honorary fellows:

Thomas Bingham, Lord Chief Justice of England and former master of the rolls (1992-96). Visitor of UCL.

Patricia Easterling, Regius professor of Greek, University of Cambridge, former professor of Greek at UCL.

Teruo Hiruma, president, Hamamatsu Photonics KK since 1978, past president of Hamamatsu Corporation (US).

Jeffrey Jowell, professor of public law at UCL since 1975, vice provost and head of the graduate school since 1992.

Karl Miller, emeritus professor of modern English literature at UCL since 1992, Lord Northcliffe professor of modern English literature and head of the department of English language and literature (1974-92). Literary editor, The New Statesman (1961-67) and The Spectator (1958-61) co-editor of The London Review of Books (1979-90).

Stanley Peart, professor of medicine at St. Mary's Hospital, London (1956-87) trustee of the Wellcome Trust (1975-94) and deputy chairman (1991-94) Martin Swales, professor of German at UCL since 1976, public orator since 1990.

Peter Williams, executive chairman of Oxford Instruments plc since 1991 and chief executive since 1985. Lecturer in chemical engineering and technology at Imperial College (1970-75).

Fellows: Adarsh Anand, judge, Supreme Court of India since 1991, chief justice, High Court of Judicature, Madras (1989-91).

Wendy Davies, pro provost for European affairs at UCL since 1995, professor of history since 1985, dean of the faculty of social and historical sciences (1994-95).

Sally Davis, vice president, business development strategy, NYNEX Network Systems Company since 1993, managing director of Davis Associations (1990-93).

Trevor Evans, chief executive and secretary, Institution of Chemical Engineers since 1976, head joint general secretariat, European Federation of Chemical Engineering.

Ashley Hill, head of programme planning, Channel 4 since 1991, head of programme scheduling, British Satellite Broadcasting (1989-91).

Harold Hughes, director, Canadian Petroleum (UK) Ltd since 1997, director-general UK Offshore Operators Association (1990-97), chairman of British Butterfly Conservation Society since 1989.

Kenneth Ives, emeritus professor of civil engineering at UCL since 1992, Chadwick professor of civil engineering and head of department (1984-92).

John Liebeschuetz, emeritus professor of classics, University of Nottingham since 1992.

John Maynard, former group managing director of Healthcare, Amersham International plc.

Stephen Perry, managing director of London Export Group, vice president China-Britain Trade Group, chairman, the 48 Group Club, director of the International Shakespeare Globe Centre.

Chung-Kwong Poon, president of Hong Kong Polytechnic University, former professor of chemistry at the University of Hong Kong and member of Legislative Council, Hong Kong Government 1985-91.

Roger Rideout, professor of labour law at UCL, faculty dean (1975-77).

Noticeboard is compiled by Lynne Williams. For further information see NetGazette on http://thesis.newsint.co.uk

Register to continue

Why register?

  • Registration is free and only takes a moment
  • Once registered, you can read 3 articles a month
  • Sign up for our newsletter
Please Login or Register to read this article.


Featured jobs