May 17, 1996

UNIVERSITY OF DURHAM. Professorships: Martin Millett, senior lecturer in archaeology; Ian Shennan, reader in geography; John Anstee, senior lecturer in biological sciences; Jas Pal Badyal, lecturer in chemistry; Adrian Darnell, senior lecturer in economics; John Findlay, reader in psychology; Brian Huntley, senior lecturer in biological sciences; Jeremy Hutson, reader in chemistry; Ranald Mitchie, reader in history; John Moles, reader in classics; Ann Moss, reader in French; Colin Warbrick, senior lecturer in law; Patricia Waugh, reader in English; Bill Williamson, senior lecturer in adult and continuing education; Rodney Wilson, reader in economics.

De Montfort University

Professorships: Frank Stowell, executive member of the UK Systems Society and UK Academy of Information Systems, formerly at the University of Paisley, professor in the department of computing information sciences; Gordon Wright, former director of studies at City University, professor of management studies and head of the department of business and management.

Visiting professor: Don Norris, director of Maryland University's institute for policy analysis.


Visiting professorship: Lixian Jin, department of human communications at De Montfort University, in recognition of her contribution to postgraduate courses and research on Chinese learners of English.


Developmental chairs: Beverley Alimo-Metcalfe, former senior lecturer in organisational psychology in the Nuffield Institute for Health; Peter Grant, senior lecturer in medicine and honorary consultant physician at Leeds General Infirmary.


Professorships: Philip Evans, associate head of the school of social and policy sciences; John Flood, Vizards reader in law.

Visiting professor: Norbert Singer, chairman of Oxleas NHS Trust, newly appointed to the school of computer science and information systems engineering.

Professor emeritus: Terence Burlin, former rector of the university.


C. Kirkpatrick, professor at University of Bradford, professor of development economics.

Promotional chairs: J. Scarffe and Nicholas Thatcher, readers and honorary consultants, professors of oncology; F. Nixon, reader, professor of development economics; C. Easingwood, senior lecturer, professor of marketing; J. Henderson, senior lecturer, professor of international economic sociology; Tudor Rickards, senior lecturer, professor of creativity and organisational change.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments

Most Commented

James Fryer illustration (27 July 2017)

It is not Luddism to be cautious about destroying an academic publishing industry that has served us well, says Marilyn Deegan

Jeffrey Beall, associate professor and librarian at the University of Colorado Denver

Creator of controversial predatory journals blacklist says some peers are failing to warn of dangers of disreputable publishers

Kayaker and jet skiiers

Nazima Kadir’s social circle reveals a range of alternative careers for would-be scholars, and often with better rewards than academia

Hand squeezing stress ball
Working 55 hours per week, the loss of research periods, slashed pensions, increased bureaucracy, tiny budgets and declining standards have finally forced Michael Edwards out
hole in ground

‘Drastic action’ required to fix multibillion-pound shortfall in Universities Superannuation Scheme, expert warns