October 10, 1997

Pilkington Prize

The 1997 Pilkington Prizes for excellence in teaching were presented to: Martin Cowley, department of engineering; Lorraine Gelsthorpe, institute of criminology; Robin Hiley, lecturer in pharmacology; Andy Parker, lecturer at the Cavendish laboratory; Paul Shellard, department of applied mathematics and theoretical physics.

Institution of Mechanical Engineers

A. M. Strickland Prize: Sean Black, of the department of applied physics and electronic and mechanical engineering, University of Dundee, for his paper "Analysis of Grinding Temperatures by Energy Partitioning".

European Physical Society

The High Energy and Particle Physics Prize for 1997 was awarded to Peter Higgs, professor emeritus at the University of Edinburgh, who shares the honour with Belgian physicists Robert Brout and Francois Englert.

Royal Academy of Engineering

Richard Laming, reader at the University of Southampton's optoelectronics research centre, was awarded the academy's silver medal for his pioneering work developing an all-optical amplifier.

Helmut Horten Research Award

Sir Michael Rutter, honorary director of the Medical Research Council and Professor of Psychiatry at the Institute of Psychiatry, has been awarded the Helmut Horten Research Award. He shares this with Alfred Sommer, dean of the school of hygiene and public health of the Johns Hopkins University, United States.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments