February 17, 1995

THE ROYAL SOCIETY. The following vice presidents have been appointed: J. H. Horlock, treasurer, Royal Society, former vice chancellor of Open University; P. J. Lachmann, Sheila Joan Smith professor of immunology at the University of Cambridge; J. S. Rowlinson, Dr Lee's professor of chemistry emeritus in the University of Oxford; Andrew D. White professor-at-large, Cornell University; A. L. McLaren, principal research associate, Wellcome CRC Institute, Cambridge; M. E. Fisher, professor in the University of Maryland.


John Tarrant, former deputy vice chancellor at the University of East Anglia, has been appointed vice chancellor.


John Bennan, former assistant director for further education at Wiltshire County Council, has been appointed director of policy development. Ngaio Crequer, former education correspondent of The Independent, has been appointed communications manager.

You've reached your article limit.

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments