August 29, 1997

University of Teesside

John Hackney, fellow of Institute of Chartered Accountants, chairman of Post Officer Users National Council and of Northumbria Flood Defence, member of Environment Agency's Regional Advisory Panel, succeeds Rab Telfer as chair of governors board.

University of Durham

John Anstee, professor and dean of the faculty of science, appointed pro vice chancellor. Joy Palmer, reader in the school of education, dean of the faculty of social sciences.

University of Kent at Canterbury

Nick McHard, academic secretary of Loughborough University, appointed secretary and registrar, succeeding Timothy Mead on September 29.

University of Strathclyde

Owen Farish, professor and engineering faculty dean, deputy principal; Alan Hendry, professor of metallurgy and engineering materials, succeeds Owen Farish as dean of the faculty of engineering; Douglas Weir, succeeds Jim McCall as education faculty dean.

Napier University

Michael Thorne was announced as the new vice chancellor, he should have been recorded as the new vice principal.

The Nuffield Foundation

Onora O'Neill, principal of Newnham College, Cambridge, has accepted an invitation to take over the chairmanship of the foundation.

Please login or register to read this article

Register to continue

Get a month's unlimited access to THE content online. Just register and complete your career summary.

Registration is free and only takes a moment. Once registered you can read a total of 3 articles each month, plus:

  • Sign up for the editor's highlights
  • Receive World University Rankings news first
  • Get job alerts, shortlist jobs and save job searches
  • Participate in reader discussions and post comments

Have your say

Log in or register to post comments