Glittering prizes

十一月 12, 1999

Jurgen Baumert, professor of education at the Max Planck Institute for Human Development in Berlin, has received the first European Latsis Prize, worth 100,000 Swiss francs (Pounds 40,000). The annual prize is awarded by the European Science Foundation to an individual or group who has made the greatest contribution to a particular field of European research.

George Fleming, professor of water engineering and environmental management at the University of Strathclyde, has become the first Scottish academic to become president of the Institution of Civil Engineers.

The University of Teesside has awarded honorary degrees to: Wayne Sleep, dancer (MA); Mary Butterwick, president and founder of Butterwick Hospice Care (MSc); George Harwick, former Middlesbrough FC and England footballer (MA); Claes Oldenberg and Coosje van Bruggen, sculptors (DLit); David Butler, professor of politics at Ruskin College, Oxford (DIur).

Mark Williams, professor of clinical psychology at the University of Wales, Bangor, has been awarded the Shapiro Award by the British Psychological Society.

Colin Baker, professor of education at Bangor, has received the British Association of Applied Linguistics Prize for the best book of the year in applied linguistics.

Birkbeck College, University of London, has awarded fellowships to Lord Healey, secretary of state for defence and chancellor of the exchequer under the last Labour government, and Sir Anthony Cleaver, former chairman of IBM UK and current chairman of AEA technology plc.

James Geddes, former director of the board of Stirling University Innovation Park, has been awarded the honorary degree

of doctor of the University of Stirling.

登录 或者 注册 以便阅读全文。




  • 获得编辑推荐文章
  • 率先获得泰晤士高等教育世界大学排名相关的新闻
  • 获得职位推荐、筛选工作和保存工作搜索结果
  • 参与读者讨论和公布评论


Log in or register to post comments