University of Texas at Austin: McCombs

2110 Speedway, B6000, Austin, Texas, 78705, United States

About University of Texas at Austin: McCombs

The McCombs School can trace its origin back to 1922 when the University of Texas at Austin School of Business Administration was founded. It is located in the centre of UT Austin’s campus at the George Kozmetsky Center for Business Education, named after the philanthropist and former College of Business Administration dean. The school also holds postgraduate classes in Dallas, Houston and Mexico City.

McCombs’ student population is approximately 12,973 students - 4,703 undergraduates, 1,687 postgraduate, 97 doctoral students and 6,450 undergraduates who take coursework through the Texas Business Foundations Program (Texas BFP).

The school has five departments: accounting; business, government and society; finance and the department of information, risk, and operations management; management and marketing.

Undergraduate courses include: Texas bachelor of business administration (BBA), business foundations programme, business honours programme and the integrated master of public administration that offers the BBA degree in accounting and a master in professional accounting degree.

Master courses available are: Texas master in professional accounting (MPA); Texas MS – business analytics; Texas MS energy management; Texas MS finance; Texas MS in IT and management; Texas MS in marketing and the Texas MS in technology commercialisation.

Among McCombs' PhD options are Texas accounting; Texas finance; Texas information, risk and operations management; Texas management and Texas marketing.

McCombs also houses a significant number of fascinating research centres, institutes and initiatives. These include the Blockchain Initiative; Center for Research on Electronic Commerce; Center for Energy Finance Education & Research; Energy@McCombs; Herb Kelleher Center for Entrepreneurship; Hispanic Leadership Institute; Healthcare@McCombs; Center for Global Business; AIM Investment Center; Center for Customer Insight and Marketing Solutions; The Hicks, Muse, Tate & Furst Center for Private Equity; Texas McCombs Real Estate Center; Center for Risk Management and Insurance; Supply Chain Management Center; Center for Business, Technology & Law; Financial Education and Research Center and Jon Brumley Texas Venture Labs (TVL).

Notable alumni include Donald Evans, former US secretary of commerce under George W. Bush; Bill Gurley venture capitalist; Greg Abbott, Texas governor; William R. Johnson, Heinz CEO; Clay C. Williams, CEO of National Oilwell Varco and Kovid Gupta author, screenwriter, filmmaker and activist.

Where we are