More about University of Johannesburg

The University of Johannesburg is one of the best known universities in South Africa. A comprehensive university established in 2005, it has become one of the largest public residential universities in the country and was the first African university admitted to Universitas 21, a consortium of 28 research-intensive universities from across the world.

There are four campuses at the university, all within Johannesburg’s city limits. The university has more than 90 departments, organised in nine faculties: Art, Design and Architecture, Economic and Financial Sciences, Education, Engineering and Built Environment, Health Sciences, Humanities, Law, Management and Science.

The university has an especially strong reputation for its accounting programmes, as well as well-regarded programmes in the health sciences, engineering, humanities, law, science and education.

Research is highly valued at the University of Johannesburg. In a short space of time, it has attracted notable researchers and built several state of the art facilities. Each faculty has its own specialist research centre, such as the Faculty for Humanities’ Centre for Social Development in Africa, and the Faculty of Science’s Indigenous Plant Use Forum.

Sports have a high profile at the university, with basketball and rugby among the most popular student activities. The University of  Johannesburg has invested several million rand into developing the campuses' facilities, including upgrading the living quarters. New sports halls, cafeterias and shopping centres are also available for students’ use.

Johannesburg is the largest city in South Africa, and one of its cultural centres, and has a rich art scene.

Key statistics

  • 38,156
    Number of Students
  • 31.5
    Student to Staff Ratio
  • 4%
    Percentage of International Students
  • 55 : 45
    Student Ratio of Females to Males
Collected during World University Rankings on 28th Sep 2016

Where we are